Note: Any part of a date in GREEN means that part of the date is unknown
(A guess was made for entry purposes only)

Click Here To View Some Statistics On This Title

Championship Wrestling Association
World Heavyweight Championship
(January 1979 - 1981)
Won By: Won From:     Date: Event: Location: Length of         
Title Reign:         
Thunderbolt Patterson Mark Lewin Jan. 01, 1979        -- Melbourne, VIC, Australia 274 days     
Patterson was said to have defeated Mark Lewin to become the first champion.
Pat McGinnis Hector Guerrero Oct. 02, 1979        -- Louisville, KY, USA 6 days     
McGinnis defeated Guerrero for the title, unknown if the title was vacant or held by Guerrero.
Billy Graham Pat McGinnis Oct. 08, 1979        -- Memphis, TN, USA 35 days     
Jerry Lawler Billy Graham Nov. 12, 1979        -- Memphis, TN, USA 70 days     
** Title Held-Up ** Lawler & Dundee Jan. 21, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 98 days     
The title was held-up after a match against Bill Dundee.
Billy Robinson The Masked Superstar Apr. 28, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 98 days     
Lawler was unabe to compete in a rematch for the vacant title due to a broken leg. A tournament was held to determine a new champion.
Bill Dundee Billy Robinson Aug. 04, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 7 days     
Billy Robinson (2) Bill Dundee Aug. 11, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 56 days     
Austin Idol Billy Robinson Oct. 06, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 14 days     
Bobby Eaton Austin Idol Oct. 20, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 7 days     
Eaton wins the title via forfeit, reason unknown.
Billy Robinson (3) Bobby Eaton Oct. 27, 1980        -- Memphis, TN, USA 156 days     
Dory Funk Billy Robinson Apr. 01, 1981        -- -- 122 days     
Funk was recognized as champion in April, exact date and location unknown.
The title is retired in late 1981.